Bet on cricket!

Cricket betting has never been this much fun! Bet on your favourite local heroes when they do battle in the supercharged extravaganza of the Indian Premier League. Or have a punt of on our very own Mzanzi Super League, Momentum One-Day Cup or even the Four-Day Franchise Series.

You can bet on the Proteas when they do battle in a bilateral, tri-series or in an ICC event such as the Champions Trophy or the Cricket World Cup. We offer betting opportunities from leagues and internationals around the globe all year long. Our markets are vast and cater for complete beginners who are feeling a bit lucky to the more seasoned punter with a more discerning appetite.

SunBet uses the latest online security protocols to ensure that your information is strictly safeguarded against any threat. SunBet also complies with current South African Financial Intelligence Centre legislation which further enhances our reputation and confidence from our customers. Registration on is a hassle-free process. Our online betting site has a logical and easy to follow layout which allows users to quickly find their way to their preferred cricket league, tournament or cup competition to place bets. Our site is mobile friendly which allows users to easily and quickly access it on an Android or Apple device of their choice.

Betting on Cricket

  • To place a bet you need to login to the website with your username and password that you created on.
  • Select ‘Cricket’ from the sports category menu bar on the main screen and then select the tournament/league/event you wish to place your bets on.
  • There all the current and upcoming cricket fixtures will be listed in an easy to bet format. Click on the odds related to the bet you would like to place, this will load your betslip with the market.
  • To place a single bet, enter your stake (the amount you want to bet) in the block provided.
  • Your potential payout amount will be displayed; the payout amount includes your stake for the bet.
  • Now click the ‘Place Bet’ button.
  • If you would like to place another bet with your current selection click 'Keep selection in the bet slip.’
  • Your confirmed bet will be displayed in the bet card, or alternatively by navigating to ‘Betting History’ on the left menu on the main screen.
  • If you’re still a little hesitant or unsure of anything head on over to our frequently asked questions.

You can bet on who you think will win the match or bet on other exciting and dynamic markets such as which team do you think will have the Highest Opening Partnership or even which team you fancy to have the Highest Total in the First 6 overs. Some other examples include:

  • Total Innings Runs (over/under)
  • Total runs in an over (over/under)
  • Total Wides
  • Total Run Outs
  • Total Ducks
  • Half-Century Scored in Match
  • Century Scored in Match
  • Team of Top Run Scorer
  • Total Runs - 1st Ball
  • Total Runs - Home Team, Over 1
  • Next Method of Dismissal (2-Way) - Home Team, Wicket 1

Cricket History

Cricket is a team (usually 11 players a side) sport where the team with the most runs at the end of the game wins. A cricket match is played on a circular or oval field with clearly marked inner ring outer boundary. In the middle of the field is a rectangular surface called a pitch which is the focal point of play during a cricket match.

The teams take turns at batting and each turn is called an innings. A batsman tries to score runs by hitting the ball being delivered (bowled) by the bowler.

He can score runs in a number of ways; by hitting the ball into the field and running between the wickets (poles on either side of the pitch) or he can get 4 runs if he gets the ball all the way to the boundary having touched the ground or, he/she gets 6 runs if he hits the ball over the boundary without it touching the ground.

Basic cricket betting tips:

Innings Total Runs – Over/Under

One of the most popular cricket betting markets is predicting whether a team will score over or under a certain amount of runs at the end of their innings.

Outright Winner

An Outright Winner bet is placed on the team that you think will win a specific cricket tournament such as the Cricket World Cup, Champions Trophy or the IPL (Indian Premier League).